Reiki Away Your Lower Back Pain

Article by Patti Deschaine, Reiki Rays

There are many causes of back pain, and lower back pain specifically.
Sprains, pulled muscles, over exercising, over doing in general, bad posture, hip and congenital issues, all of these lead to pain and muscle spasm.

Think of your skeleton from the feet up. Every bone is meant to be aligned, from heels to ankles, to knees to hips. The spine with its energy centers holds everything upright, even, balanced symmetrical. Hips should be squared, shoulders even, head held high as if from a single thread. Those of you who do yoga may recognize the components of this alignment. In my own yoga practice, I strive for exactly this balance in my poses.

Kyanite

Problem is, we are not all perfect and we get out of balance, physically, mentally and spiritually. We pay chiropractors and other medical professionals to fix our aches and pains. We put our hard earned cash on the counter for prescription drugs, but is there a simpler, better way? Certainly powerful pain meds have their place, but chronic use can lead to addiction. And while you should always seek medical attention for serious injuries, Reiki healing can be a wonderful alternative or complement to traditional medicine.

I personally have a lot of experience with lower back pain. A fused vertebrae in my spine makes one side of my back muscles pull harder to make up for the lack of movement on my left side. Because of this, my hips go cock-eyed – the left side pulls forward, the right back, making it absurdly easy for me to strain those muscles. Over the years, I have visited several chiropractors. Sometimes this helped and sometimes it didn’t. I had better experience with therapeutic massage, which I love but the expense demands that I be practical about frequency. So recently I have tried practicing more focused Reiki self healing.

Now, I self heal a lot. Daily. Not for long periods of time, but certainly every night before falling asleep, I call in Reiki energy as I meditate and review my day. And I always call in the energy as I start my day connecting to spirit. But I don’t necessarily direct the energy anywhere in particular, my hands just land where they may, typically on my belly. Reiki energy always goes to exactly where it is needed anyway, right?

Chakras

This week, after driving 17 hours from Maine to my new home in North Carolina, I had more than the usual amount of back strain. It got so bad I could hardly move the entire weekend.
So I got out some crystals that assist with pain: a clear crystal wand, a healer’s gold stone, some blue kyanite, a red jasper to ground. Then I set out to clear my chakras. I did it exactly as I would for someone who comes to me for healing. I used the symbols to call in Reiki energy and the wand to sense the spinning movement of the chakras, starting with the root chakra. Working my way up through all seven chakras to the crown – I cleared the blockages, then sent in balanced Reiki energy.

Naturally, I felt better immediately. Even though I had massage with Reiki last week and have regular sessions via healing circles, I still had some blockages that caused me trouble. With those blockages removed, I noticed more ease of movement and much less pain. In addition, Reiki energy’s warmth is very soothing to aches and pains. With some Reiki and a couple of days rest, I was back to feeling well enough to get on my yoga mat again.

Patti Deschaine

Patti Deschaine is a traditionally trained Usui Reiki Master and owner of Maja Energy Works and Reiki Healing. She resides and practices in Wilmington, NC. She enjoys all types of Reiki and particularly loves using Reiki on animals. Patti can be found at http://majaenergyworksandreikihealing.com andhttps://www.facebook.com/MajaEnergyWorks.

Leave a Reply

